Warcraft: The Beginning (2016)

IO-pinion

Can you watch this movie without knowing the ins and outs of the game? I did play Warcraft III back in 2002 (when RTS games were cool) but I stayed a mile away from World of Warcraft so I really know nothing about the story except I wasn’t surprised to see a orc, dwarf or knight.

To answer the above question: Yes, it’s watchable but not that great. It’s not that its a terrible movie but there is also not much very good about it. As much as I loved the role Travis Fimmel brought to Vikings this was a let down. I did not expect him to do the same character in this movie (or is this just how he is?) It felt off. There is a moral in the story but the main focus was all about the visuals and orcs. Not having seen an orc for a decade I found them acceptable, the CGI was smooth in this film.

If you’re not a fan of Warcraft you should be fine without this movie.

Leave a Reply

