H.264 H.265/HEVC Video Extension – Windows 10 Insider

Windows 10 logo

About restoring your video playing experience. HEVC Video Extension on Microsoft Store

The last fey days I had some trouble getting the latest Windows insider slow ring update on my main pc. (Version 16232). I’ve seen this screen a few times now:

Something to do with drivers on my installation. I had to uninstall some drivers from my mouse, audio- and graphics-card to get the update the update installed. Stupid thing about the error was that the GSOD (Green Screen of Death) was at the end of the setup and it automatically did a rollback. I couldn’t choose any other way and with the rollback it also wiped the installation files. Thankfully the rollback works great and as soon as the old Windows installation is up and running it sees an insider update and downloads the whole set again and again and so on….

But anyway I’m running now Build 16232 with the Windows Defender Application Guard for Microsoft Edge functionality. More info on this feature here and here.

The next day after installing the update and my drivers again 🙂 I wanted to resume watching a video on my pc. The video opened with the default Movies and TV app which I actually really like and audio started but my screen kept black.

Maybe I didn’t see the announcement (or maybe there is no announcement as I still can’t find it when googling for it now) but it looks like Microsoft has pulled H.264, x264, H.265 aka HEVC codec support and maybe more from their base OS. You now have to install a small add-on from the store to get the functionality back.

Download it from Microsoft here:

microsoft.com/en-us/store/p/hevc-video-extension/9n4wgh0z6vhq

It probably has something to do with royalties or some lawsuit for a patent infringement but it’s a bit weird there was absolutely no information out there before this happened. The word H265 or H264 hasn’t been mentioned at the Windows Insider blog for the last year.

After installing this add-on I could play my video files again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

